Forum Thread: How to get firm staccato up and down

Hello my dear colleagues who play the violin,

I would like to offer you the shortest way to learn playing firm staccato up and down in 3 lessons.

The best way to teach it is personally but now I can teach it on skype as well. Just want to mention that on skype it can take more than 3 lessons, it depends on student.

The biggest problem is that when the violinist plays firm staccato the muscles of the right hand become convulsed and uncontrollable especially on the down-bow. So I found the special method how to relax right hand to make its muscles work in cooperation so that one group of muscles smoothly turns to another one.

When I started playing the violin, my first teacher told me: "Firm staccato is one of the most difficult strokes and you need to have a special talent which I see you don't have. In my opinion there is no chance for you to play it well."

I was really sad. And I stopped practicing it. But when I studied in well-known Novosibirsk State Conservatoire, I understood that firm staccato was very important for every violinist, and I couldn't play virtuoso compositions of composers like Paganini, Wieniawski, Vieuxtemps, etc. without this stroke. That is why I decided to learn it in spite of the theory that I needed a special talent.

I used a traditional method of learning a firm staccato like heavy firm staccato of Spohr and firm staccato of Wieniawski which require maximum muscle tension of the right hand. I practiced a lot, but it did not work. My firm staccato was not rhythmic; I could not control staccato's speed and quality. But I wanted to learn it so much, so I decided to look for some method different from the traditional one. It was very difficult but I found it. I developed my own method of learning to play firm staccato. It helped me to master the stroke and so I decided to teach it to all my students.